1880. Royal Canadian Academy of Arts founded; first meeting and exhibition, Mar. 6. May 11, Sir A. T. Galt appointed first Canadian High Commissioner in London. Sept. 1, All British possessions in North America and adjacent islands, except Newfoundland and its dependencies, annexed to Canada by Imperial Order in Council of July 31. Oct. 21, Signing of the contract with the present Canadian Pacific Railway Co. for the completion of the Canadian Pacific Railway.

1881. April 4, Second Dominion census. May 2, First sod turned of the Canadian Pacific Railway as a

company line.

1882. May 8, Provisional Districts of Assiniboia, Saskatchewan, Athabaska and Alberta formed. May 25, First meeting of the Royal Society of Canada. Aug. 23, Regina established as seat of government of Northwest Territories.

1883. Feb. 1, Opening of the fifth Dominion Parliament. Sept. 5, Formation of the Methodist Church in Canada; united conference.

1884. May 24, Sir Charles Tupper High Commissioner in London. Aug. 11, Order in Council settling the boundary of Ontario and Manitoba.

1885. Mar. 26, Outbreak of Riel's second rebellion in the Northwest. April 24, Engagement at Fish Creek. May 2, Engagement at Cut Knife. May 12, Taking of Batoche. May 16, Surrender of Riel. Aug. 24, First census of the Northwest Territories. Nov. 16, Execution of Riel.

1886. April 6, Incorporation of Vancouver. June 7, Archbishop Taschereau of Quebec made first Canadian Cardinal. June 13, Vancouver destroyed by fire. June 28, First through train of the Canadian Pacific Railway from Montreal to Vancouver. July 31, First quinquennial census of Manitoba.

1887. Interprovincial Conference at Quebec. April 4, First Col-

onial Conference in London. April 13, Opening of the sixth Dominion Parliament.

1888. Feb. 15, Signing of Fishery Treaty between United Kingdom and United States at Washington. Aug., Rejection of Fishery Treaty by United States

Senate. 1890. Mar. 31, The Manitoba School Act abolishes separate schools.

1891. April 5, Third Dominion census.

April 29, Opening of the seventh Dominion Parliament,
June 6, Death of Sir John A.

Macdonald. June 15, Sir John
Abbott becomes Prime Minister.

1892. Feb. 29, Washington Treaty, providing for arbitration of the Behring Sea Seal Fisheries question. July 22, Boundary convention between Canada and United States. Nov. 25, Sir John Thompson becomes Prime Minister.

1893. April 4, First sitting of the Behring Sea Arbitration Court. Dec. 18, Archbishop Machray, of Rupert's Land, elected first Anglican Primate of all Canada.

1894. June 28, Second Colonial Conference at Ottawa. Dec. 12, Death of Sir John Thompson at Windsor Castle. Dec. 21, (Sir) Mackenzie Bowell becomes Prime Minister.

1895. Sept. 10, Opening of new Sault Ste. Marie canal. Oct. 2, Proclamation naming the Ungava, Franklin, Mackenzie and Yukon Districts of Northwest

Territories.

1896. April 24, Sir Donald Smith (Lord Strathcona) High Commissioner in London. April 27, Sir Charles Tupper becomes Prime Minister. July 11, (Sir) Wilfrid Laurier becomes Prime Minister. Aug., Gold discovered in the Klondyke. Aug. 19, Opening of the eighth Dominion Parliament.

1897. July, Third Colonial Conference in London. Dec. 17, Award of the Behring Sea Arbitration

Court.

1898. June 13, The Yukon district established as a separate territory. Aug. 1, The British Preferential Tariff goes into force. Aug. 23, Meeting at